Developing Together Social Work  Teaching Partnership

Professional Standards


The Professional Capabilities Framework (PCF) is a framework for the nine levels of social work in England. 



The Practice Educator Professional Standards (PEPS) set out requirements for practice educators at two stages, commensurate with the different levels of complexity and responsibility in teaching, assessing and supervising social work degree students. The Standards are minimum requirements for all placements and were refreshed by BASW in July 2019. 



Knowledge and Skills Statements for Child and Family Practitioners


Knowledge and Skills Statements for Practice Leaders and Supervisors in Child and Family Social Work


Knowledge and Skills Statements for  Social Workers in Adult Services


Postqualifying Standards for Social Work Practice Supervisors in Adult Social Care


Capabilities Statement for Social Workers in England who work with Older People


HCPC Guidance


Standards of Proficiency for Social Workers in England

The standards set out what a social worker in England should know, understand and be able to do when they complete their social work training so they can register with the HCPC.

Guidance on Conduct and Ethics for Students

Information for students on conduct, performance and ethics standards.

Standards of Conduct, Ethics and Performance

The ethical framework within which HCPC registrants must work.


We are in a period of transition and so you will need to watch this space in relation to new standards and regulation by Social Work England.


Local Government Association Guidance


Standards for employers of social workers in England


NAAS Toolkit

Resources for NAAS leads, child and family social work practitioners and practice supervisors to help them prepare for the assessment and practice endorsement.